About Tapestry House
Tapestry House (formerly the Bartlett House) was built in 1908 for New York State Assemblyman John Bartlett, a delegate to presidential nominating conventions in 1904 and 1908. Mr. Bartlett, his wife Mary and their extensive domestic staff hosted many of that era’s political, business and entertainment stars.
The house remained in the family for the next four decades, thereafter briefly becoming a boarding house for local mariners between sea voyages from Greenport’s still-busy commercial harbor. In the early 1960s – divine providence clearly at work – the house became the convent for the Sisters of Charity who taught at the neighboring St. Agnes School.
Some thirty-five years ago, the house was acquired by the first family to operate it as a B&B. They and each of the next two owners made very significant improvements to the physical plant, and the inn became known for its unique styling as well as its size, both of which set it apart as a North Fork institution.
Joan Murray and her husband Nick acquired the mansion at the beginning of 2015, and immediately set about completely refurbishing the common area and the 75-foot wraparound porch as you experience them today. In addition, three of the ten guest rooms have been totally renovated and redecorated, and several more have been importantly refreshed.
We’re pleased to announce that The Tapestry House Bed and Breakfast has been recognized with a 2018 Certificate of Excellence, based on the consistently great reviews we’ve received on the world’s largest travel site.